Monday, January 19, 2009

National Prayer Service Clergy Inclusivity

A number of women and non-Christian clergy will be included in the National Prayer Service at the Washington National Cathedral on Jan. 21 beginning at 8:30 a.m. EST at the invitation of Barack Obama. Attendance at the Service, which is traditional Inaugural event, is by invitation only.

Rev. Dr. Sharon Watkins, General Minister and President of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), will be the first woman to deliver the sermon at this event. Other Christian women clergy include: Episcopal Presiding Bishop Katherine Jefferts-Schori, who will give the closing prayer; the Rev. Cynthia Hall of the Ray of Hope Christian Church in Atlanta. Non-Christian women clergy include: Dr. Uma Mysorekar, President of the Hindu Temple Society of North America and Ingrid Mattson of the Islamic Society of North America. Other non-Christian clergy include: Rabbi David Saperstein (Reform); and Rabbi Haskal Lookstein (Orthodox).

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

<< Home

 Subscribe in a reader

Subscribe to
Posts [Atom]

Judith Laura

More blogs about /goddess/feminist theology/spiritual feminism/pagan/feminist spirituality/.